Executive team

Photo of Kelvin Shepherd

Kelvin Shepherd
President and CEO

Kelvin joined Manitoba Hydro in 2015. His previous experience includes 34 years in telecommunications with 15 years at Manitoba Telecom Services in a variety of technical and managerial roles such as president, vice-president of network services and chief technology officer. Prior to that, he worked at Saskatchewan Telecommunications for 19 years and his last role held was senior vice-president and chief technology officer.

Kelvin holds a bachelor of science in electrical engineering from the University of Saskatchewan, and a certificate in administration from the University of Regina. He is also a registered professional engineer in Manitoba.

Kelvin devotes a considerable amount of his time to serving his community. He was campaign chair for the 2015 United Way of Winnipeg’s 50th Anniversary Fundraising Campaign which raised $20.4 million, and continues to support United Way in different member positions. He is also the chair of the awards jury for Manitoba Chamber of Commerce annual business awards, a long-time participant in the Downtown Biz CEO Sleepout event, part of the Canadian Forces Liaison Committee, and an active supporter of many other organizations throughout Manitoba.

Photo of Jamie McCallum

Jamie McCallum
Chief Finance and Strategy Officer

Jamie joined Manitoba Hydro in 2016, and assumed his current role in February 2017. He has extensive experience in capital markets, financial planning, capital allocation and investment, and corporate stewardship. Before joining Manitoba Hydro, Jamie was managing director at Richardson Capital Limited. He spent the first decade of his career in the investment banking industry advising clients on mergers and acquisitions, and capital raising activities.

He holds a bachelor of commerce (honours) degree from the University of Manitoba.

Jamie serves on the board of directors of the Keeyask Hydropower Limited Partnership and the General Partner of the Wuskwatim Power Limited Partnership. He has also been director of a number of companies including Ocean Nutrition Canada Limited, Plastic Moulders Limited, Strad Energy Services Limited (TMX: SDY) and Trillium Health Care Products Inc.

Photo of Lorne Midford

Lorne Midford
Vice-President Generation and Wholesale

Lorne joined Manitoba Hydro in 1985. Prior to becoming Vice-President Generation and Wholesale in 2013, he was the Division Manager of Transmission System Operations.

He has a bachelor of science in electrical engineering (with distinction) and a master of science degree. His studies also include the Ivey executive program from the University of Western Ontario. He is a registered professional engineer in Manitoba.

Lorne shares his expertise across many boards as chair of the Wuskwatim General Partnership, Teshmont Consultants Ltd, and the Keeyask Hydro Limited Partnership, and as board member of the Canadian Hydropower Association and the Canadian Electricity Association (CEA) Generation Council. In the past, he has been a member of the Midwest Reliability Organization board.

Photo of Shane Mailey

Shane Mailey
Vice-President Transmission

Shane joined Manitoba Hydro in 1991. He was appointed Vice-President of Transmission and Corporate Chief Engineer in 2013. He is responsible for executive oversight to ensure the reliable and efficient operation of the bulk electric system so that there is continuous capacity in the electrical grid to meet demand and regulatory requirements.

Prior to his current role, he was the Division Manager of Transmission Construction and Line Maintenance. His experience includes design, construction, contract administration, capital projects management, maintenance, implementing ongoing business efficiencies, participating on corporate initiatives, engagement with external stakeholders and operations of the business.

Shane holds a bachelor of science in civil engineering from the University of Manitoba. He earned the designation of Fellow from Engineers Canada in 2011. He is a registered professional engineer in Manitoba. He is an active member on different boards, including in the Teshmont Board, Friends of Engineering Board, Canadian Electricity Association (CEA) Transmission Council, and CIGRE Canada Executive. He is the chair of the Manitoba Hydro Employee Fund.

Photo of Siobhan Vinish

Siobhan Vinish
Vice-President Marketing and Customer Service

Siobhan joined Manitoba Hydro in 2015. Her prior work experience includes vice-president of marketing and audience development at Postmedia Network and director of public relations and communications at WestJet Airlines in Calgary.

She has a bachelor of commerce degree from the University of Calgary.

Photo of Bryan Luce

Bryan Luce
Vice-President HR and Corporate Services

Bryan joined Manitoba Hydro in 2013. Previously, he was executive vice-president and chief human resources officer at MTS Allstream, vice-president of human resources and labour relations consulting at Pinnacle, director of human resources at Grace General Hospital, manager of labour relations at St. Boniface General Hospital, and divisional personnel administrator at Canada Wire and Cable.

He graduated from the human resources and labour relations program from the Confederation College of Applied Arts and Technology in Ontario.

Bryan collaborates on the board of directors for the Manitoba Business Leadership Network, and he is a member of the Conference Board of Canada’s Council of Industrial Relations and Human Resources Executives. He is the chair of the Industrial Relations Advisory Committee, Confederation College of Applied Arts and Technology.

Photo of Ken Tennenhouse

Ken Tennenhouse
General Counsel and Corporate Secretary

Ken joined Manitoba Hydro in 1983 and has over 30 years of progressively responsible technical and leadership roles with Manitoba Hydro.

His educational background includes a bachelor of laws degree from the University of Manitoba and he has also completed studies in the department of environmental studies in the faculty of architecture.

Ken is a member in good standing of the Law Society of Manitoba, Manitoba Bar Association, Canadian Corporate Counsel Section, and Institute of Corporate Directors. He is also a past member of the Compliance and Ethics Leadership Council.